Calling interested candidates! It’s time once again for MASA Executive Board elections. One Director seat is up for election this year, with a three-year term beginning on July 1, 2024.

In accordance with MASA’s Constitution, any active member wishing to be on the ballot must file an official peti­tion with a minimum of 30 signatures of active MASA members. Signatures must include members from at least three regions, with no more than 10 signatures from a single region counting toward the total. (An active MASA member may sign peti­tions for as many candidates as they choos­e.)

All petitions must be submitted by 5 p.m. on Monday, April 22, 2024. MASA will determine whether sufficient valid signatures have been collected on the received petition forms. Nominees meeting the requirements will be placed on the 2024 election ballot.

Members interested in receiving a petition form, must email Chelsey Martinez at A digital petition and additional details will be provided by April 1 (or thereafter upon written request).

Candidate Requirements

The MASA Constitution allows for a maximum of two members from the same region and no more than two members from an ISD to serve on the Executive Board. The eligibility of candidates will be assessed in accordance with the composition of the Executive Board, please reference the 2024-25 roster provided below and the MASA Region Map. Candidates from the same region are permitted to run for election to the Board if they meet the eligibility criteria.

2024-25 Executive Board Members

  • President: Katy Xenakis-Makowski, Johannesburg-Lewiston Schools (Region 2)
  • President-Elect: Tom Livesey, Oakridge Public Schools (Region 3)
  • Past President: Dr. Glenn Maleyko, Dearborn Public Schools (Region 9)
  • Director: Jason Kennedy, Fruitport Community Schools (Region 3)
  • Director: Ben Mainka, Novi Community Schools (Region 9)
  • Director: Stephanie Long, Leland Public School (Region 2)
  • Director: VACANT

Additional Election Details

All active MASA members will receive access to the electronic ballot on May 1. The voting window will close at 5 p.m. on May 15.

The candidate who receives the larger number of votes on the final ballot shall be declared elected. In the event only one candidate meets the nomination requirements, that person shall be declared elected to the Executive Board, and no ballot shall be required.