Superintendent of the Year | Michigan Association of Superintendents & Administrators

MASA presents the Superintendent of the Year Award each year to a superintendent who has shown tremendous effort and dedication to enriching the lives of children and the community as a whole.

The Michigan Superintendent of the Year is recognized for strong leadership, creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students, communication skills, professionalism, community involvement and the success of students that has taken place during their tenure.

MASA Names Dearborn Public Schools Leader 2019 Michigan Superintendent of the Year

Dr. Glenn Maleyko has proven himself to be an outstanding leader for Dearborn Public Schools, and I am honored to present him with the 2019 Michigan Superintendent of the Year Award,” said MASA Executive Director Chris Wigent. “Always putting students first, Dr. Maleyko cares deeply about their success, which has paid off in many areas including an increase in rising graduation rates. His vision and careful strategic planning are leading to greater success for the students in Dearborn, as well as the educators who nurture their academic development. In addition, his leadership in the district’s social media presence is impressive and demonstrates his willingness to ensure that there is a strong connection between the school district and the community.”

The Superintendent of the Year Award is presented by MASA to a member who has shown tremendous effort and dedication to enriching the lives of children and the community as a whole. Dr. Maleyko’s nomination for the award, which included input from staff, students and local leaders, stated in part:

Students first. Inspire. Educate. Celebrate. This is our district’s vision, but it serves as more of a values statement about our superintendent, Dr. Glenn Maleyko. Dr. Maleyko has spent his career as a teacher, resource teacher, and administrator. Throughout all of these roles, he has never lost focus of what matters most in our profession – students. Dr. Maleyko serves the Dearborn Public Schools district with integrity and promotes high standards in order to meet the needs of Dearborn’s diverse student population.

Dr. Maleyko was appointed superintendent of Dearborn Public Schools in 2015. He has worked in Dearborn Public Schools since 1995, when he started as a substitute teacher. His career in Dearborn has included roles as teacher, assistant principal, principal, director of human resources, and executive director of staff and student services. Under Dr. Maleyko’s leadership, the district’s graduation rates have risen to 95 percent in 2017 and two schools were named National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education. Under one of his initiatives, he reorganized schools into “feeder tracks,” ensuring that schools work together in a collaborative fashion to maximize resources and advance academic success. He also created the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council, which gives students a voice on district issues.

MASA’s superintendent selection committee includes representatives from Michigan’s various education stakeholders, including superintendents, the Michigan Parent Teacher Association, local school boards, principals and teachers. The committee selected Dr. Maleyko from a pool of highly qualified nominees.

As the MASA honoree, Dr. Maleyko is now in the running for the national Superintendent of the Year Award that is given out by AASA – the Superintendents Association. AASA will convene a Blue Ribbon Selection Committee to select four national finalists in December. The four finalists will participate in a national briefing and interviews in January at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The National Superintendent of the Year winner will be announced in early March.

MASA also will recognize Dr. Maleyko at its 2019 Midwinter Conference in February in Detroit

Michigan Superintendent of the Year past winners

Dr. Glenn Maleyko, Dearborn Public Schools
Dr. Jeanice Kerr Swift, Ann Arbor Public Schools

Dr. Rob Glass, Bloomfield Hills Schools
Dr. Michael Rice, Kalamazoo Public Schools
Yvonne Caamal Canul, Lansing School District
Brian J. Whiston, Dearborn Public Schools
Dr. Wanda Cook-Robinson, Southfield Public Schools
Dr. Tina Kerr, Coldwater Community Schools
Dr. Brian Davis, Holland Public Schools
Dave Campbell, Olivet Community Schools
Roxanne DeWeerd, Hudsonville Public Schools
Thomas Maridada II, Inkster Public Schools
Robert M. Olsen, Sturgis Public Schools
Paula M. Dawning, Benton Harbor Area Schools
Joan Sergent, Utica Community Schools